Noisia – Split the Atom: Special Edition (Mau5trap)

The experimental, electronic music gods from the Netherlands are releasing a special edition of their album Split The Atom which features a mixture of experimental dubstep, drum and bass and electronic dance music.

Mau5trap have invested heavily into Noisia further and will be pushing them even further, which is exciting news if you an avid Noisia fan like me.

There are ELEVEN more tracks on the Special Edition!! With some huge remixes from the likes of 16bit, Black Sun Empire, Excision & Datsik and Kito.

You can view the original Press Release Here:

The release of Noisia’s debut artist album ‘Split The Atom’ on their own Vision Recordings imprint in 2010 immediately made an ineffaceable mark on electronic music, etching their name amongst the most important production outfits of our generation. Aptly, it was the release of this album that led them to Deadmau5 who highlighted it as his favourite album of the year, so instigating a fruitful creative relationship that given birth to singles ‘Tommy’s Theme’ and ‘Could This Be’ this year alone. The deluxe re-issue of the album on mau5trap will feature the album in its entirety along with the addition of recent single ‘Tommy’s Theme’ and ‘Could This Be’, as well as a selection of upfront remixes from a collection of friends, affiliates and like-minded contemporaries who represent some of the most forward-thinking producers working in electronic music at the moment.

Two years on from the album’s release and it still sounds as fresh, vital and visceral as it did upon its release, losing none of the impact and stop-you-in-your-tracks brilliance that had people enamored first time around. The addition of ‘Tommy’s Theme’ and ‘Could This Be’ act as the perfect accompaniment, bridging the original material while at the same time showcasing the evolution in their productions. Expansive, progressive and deadly, these tracks are a powerful statement from the trio that heralds great things to come. Munchi takes on ‘Tommy’s Theme’ with his ‘Fear Is Weakness’ remix injecting it with a darker overtone, ripping apart the original and reconstructing it as a glitchy sonic torpedo while Loadstar use the cinematic bed of instrumentation to lull you before unleashing a rude and techy drum and bass roller.

New school leader LA-based producer Kill The Noise takes on ‘Diplodocus’ warping the original’s morphing bassline into a writhing many-headed beast and re-enforcing the drums with rattling breaks. NZ production duo The Upbeats also take it on flipping it with jarring bass swells and a devastatingly swung drum stomp. Fellow Dutch producer Posij rewires ‘My World’ slowing down the rapid-fire rhythms to make space for the thick bass smudges that collide through the track.

Current Value delivers a re-envisioning of ‘Soul Purge’ ft. Foreign Beggars ramping up the scattershot percussion and giving it their inimitably techy makeover. Australian producer du jour Kito takes on the title track imbuing it with flailing, funk-fuelled mid range and punishing rhythmic tumbles. Phace and Misanthrop team up as Neosignal to rework ‘Stigma’ into a juddering, hyperspeed techy beast while Black Sun Empire cast their production talents over ‘Thursday’ retaining the cinematic atmosphere while giving it a rugged edge.

The album also features previously released fan favourite remixes from Excision & Datsik and 16 Bit. Canadian partners in crime Excision & Datsik stamp ‘Alpha Centauri’ with their warped, growling sound while 16 Bit flip the rapidfire bass manipulations of ‘Machine Gun’ into a juddering, maniacal half-stepper.

Each of the remixers bring their unique production styles to the tracks, simultaneously showcasing an alternative vision of Noisia’s music and reminding the listener of the multi-faceted brilliance of the original tracks.

Having welcomed Noisia into the mau5trap family with open arms, its anyone’s guess what will happen next. Define them at your peril.

Noisia – Split the Atom: Special Edition (Mau5trap) Tracklist:

1. Machine Gun
2. My World ft. Giovanca
3. Shitbox
4. Split The Atom
5. Thursday
6. Leakage
7. Hand Gestures ft. Joe Seven
8. Headknot
9. Red Heat
10. Shellshock ft. Foreign Beggars
11. Whiskers
12. Alpha Centauri
13. Soul Purge ft. Foreign Beggars
14. Diplodocus
15. Paper Doll
16. Dystopia
17. Sunhammer ft. Amon Tobin
18. Stigma
19. Square Feet
20. Tommy’s Theme
21. Could This Be
22. Stigma (Neosignal Remix)
23. My World (Posij Remix)
24. Split The Atom (Kito Remix)
25. Soul Purge ft. Foreign Beggars (Current Value Remix)
26. Diplodocus (Kill The Noise Remix)
27. Tommy’s Theme (Munchi’s Fear Is Weakness Remix)
28. Thursday (Black Sun Empire Remix)
29. Diplodocus (Upbeats Remix)
30. Alpha Centauri (Excision & Datsik Remix)
31. Machine Gun (16 Bit Remix)
32. Tommy’s Theme (Loadstar Remix)

What do you think?

Written by mAson


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Founding Focus: Skream – Midnight Request Line

Top 5 Dubstep Faces

Our Top 5 Dubstep Faces